Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee

Iowa

The Department of Statistics and Actuarial Science is committed to promoting diversity, equity and inclusion (DEI) for facilitating a friendly, free and formative academic environment as well as a congenial work environment conductive to furthering the departmental mission - student learning, teaching, creative research and service to the profession and society at large.

Plans for promoting DEI within the Department of Statistics and Actuarial Science:

  1. We shall create a DEI committee comprising 3 faculty members, 4 students and 1 staff member.  The committee is charged to regularly examine DEI issues pertaining.  Chair is Aixin Tan;  staff member is Margie Ebert; Kung-Sik Chan and Sanvesh Srivastava. Students were nominated by the faculty, staff or graduate SSO (Statistics Student Organization) and SDO (Statistics and Data Science Organization) and by the Actuarial Science Club. 
  2. The departmental Executive Committee will annually review departmental polices related to DEI issues pertaining to the faculty.
  3. The DEO will work with the Departmental Administrator to annually review DEI issues pertaining to the staff.

Please share. All members of the community are welcome to join. 2023 Meetings are scheduled on October 31 and November 28 at 1 p.m. 

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Student committee members for 2023-24:

Keira Du, keira-du@uiowa.edu

Nikita Jaiswal, nikita-jaiswal@uiowa.edu

Emma Kajtazovic, emma-kajtazovic@uiowa.edu

Aleyah Sidhu, aleyah-sidhu@uiowa.edu

Vora Vash, vora-vash@uiowa.edu

 

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Student committee members for 2022-23:

Aidan Chaffin, aidan-chaffin@uiowa.edu 

Mitchell J Hermon, mitchell-hermon@uiowa.edu 

Shiao Liu, shiao-liu@uiowa.edu

Jude M C Shelton, jude-shelton@uiowa.edu

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Student committee members for 2021-22:

Aidan Chaffin, aidan-chaffin@uiowa.edu 

Mitchell J Hermon, mitchell-hermon@uiowa.edu 

Shiao Liu, shiao-liu@uiowa.edu 

Trang T Luu, hoai-luu@uiowa.edu 

Jude M C Shelton, jude-shelton@uiowa.edu

 

Past Meetings

October 4, 2022

March 3, 2022

 

The Division of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, the Diversity Councils, and the Graduate College are pleased to announce this semester’s Hawks of Color event schedule.

Hawks of Color is a place of welcome and community building while celebrating excellence! Formerly Faculty and Staff of Color, Hawks of Color is a re-envisioned community space to support and promote conversations among historically underrepresented, global majority, and/or marginalized faculty, staff, postdocs, and students at the University of Iowa. In addition to uplifting our voices and brilliance, attendees will have an opportunity to gather with each other.

Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to attend all University of Iowa-sponsored events. If you are a person with a disability who requires a reasonable accommodation in order to participate in this program, please contact Erin Stresow at erin-stresow@uiowa.edu.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to attend all University of Iowa-sponsored events. If you are a person with a disability who requires a reasonable accommodation in order to participate in this program, please contact Erin Stresow in advance at 319-467-3291.